Casual Blogging

There are always so many things that could be written about.  It becomes difficult to isolate what would potentially have the most value.

I’ve been blogging for almost a year now.  It seems that blogging falls into a few different categories.

  1. Professional blogger – blogs so much that it becomes a job in itself
  2. Casual blogger – already has a full time job but enjoys writing
  3. Amateur blogger – starts blogging but then stops soon afterwards

I’m number 2.  I enjoy it but I couldn’t do it all the time.  Depending on advertising seems a bit suspicious to me.  I’m not knocking it but I really don’t want to base my existence on someone else’s opinion for my livelihood.

True freedom comes from being casual.  You have the right to say what you want without worry about how many people are going to read it.  With wonderful places like WordPress.com, the risk is very low.  All you need to do is invest some of your spare time to write whatever you feel like.

It does help to have some sympathy for the reader of course.  It’s good to know that the message is getting through.  And, I will admit that for now I love to check the stats for this blog.

I learned at my other blog that trying to drum up numbers is a very difficult task and that it is far better not to worry about it.  It is kind of like when writers start ignoring the critics.  So, the trick is to not let the numbers rule your blogging life as you experiment with what you really want to write about.

It’s still not easy however.  It still feels good when people stop by.

For whatever its worth, I’ve decided to write more about things that are more at the heart of what matters to me.  It is difficult to do this at first but it seems that patience will eventually pay off.

Leave a Reply

